Sell Your Car in Less Than 24 Hours with Facebook

22 May

When I got a job in New York last week, the first thing I thought about was my car, and how I was going to sell it. I won’t need it with the subway, and I can’t afford parking anywhere.

Bought in January 2011, my Chevrolet Cruze has fewer than 15,000 miles on it and has never had any repairs. I planned to put it on Craigslist eventually, but not before giving Facebook a try.

But I didn’t choose any day and time to post the ad. (Not an actual ad, but a photo album to which I uploaded photos of the vehicle along with a description.) I chose about 11:50 p.m. May 17 – 10 minutes before my birthday would come up on all my friends’s home pages. That’s right, every time someone would click on my profile to wish me a happy birthday, they would see the car “ad” I posted the night before. Not only that, but I made the album public so anyone could see it, not just my friends.

By the time I woke up around 7 a.m. the next morning, I had already received three messages. There was a virtual line of people (three or more makes a line, right?) waiting to buy my car. I’ll spare you the mundane details, but by Saturday night I had a deposit in hand and sold the car to one of my college classmates. What made it even better is that he’s so understanding of my transitional situation – since we connected through Facebook and he’s an actual friend and not some random from Craigslist – that he said he doesn’t even need the car until I fully move to New York. (Thanks, bro!) Which is supposed to happen in the next week. Now I need to find an apartment.

One Response to “Sell Your Car in Less Than 24 Hours with Facebook”

  1. Jeremy B. September 15, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Oh, I am selling cars by just calling in a phone as well as emailing…This is a great Idea, I saw you media set, your Chevrolet is still so cool in ma eyes!

    And by the way

    Click Here for additional information about my small business, I would be happy to share it with anyone…

Leave a Reply

