Get Repinned on Pinterest

27 Mar

As a male Pinterest user, I’m in the minority – 70 percent are female. And while that number is dropping, it’s still a woman’s world.

I try my best to stand out, though my taste doesn’t always jive with the wedding dresses, fancy desserts and summer bikinis that seem to flood my pin board. I consider a repin of anything I post a small victory, but I’d like to do better. Like this Oreo ice cream cake photo that got 30 repins in less than an hour, and more than 40 total. Not to mention the eight likes.

Ironically, it probably took the least effort of my other 58 pins. (I know, I should probably increase my output.) It makes sense, though, why it would be so much more popular than something I read or a song I enjoyed. It’s bright, edible, and though I simply uploaded an iPhone photo instead of posting a recipe, is probably something anyone else could figure out how to make.

Surely there are more tangible tips than “post vivid photos of delicious dessert.” Here are some suggestions from Path Interactive:

  • The Closer the Better
  • Shock with Colors
  • Snap it Like You Mean It

The site says your posts should do a few other things, too: be nifty, be aspirational, capture emotion and resonate. Read the full post here.

Which have your pins have garnered the most attention?

One Response to “Get Repinned on Pinterest”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Using Pinterest to Drive More Traffic to Your Blog - April 15, 2013

    […] to a popular blog called SocialMeditation, 70% of Pinterest users are female. So those blogs that will benefit the most from the usage of […]

Leave a Reply

